Organisation Regional Integrated Multi-Hazard Early Warning System for Africa and Asia (RIMES)
Country Thailand
Last update : 09/08/2017
Address AIT campus , 1212 , Klong Luang, Pathumthani  
Mandate Research
Scope 4. International
Type International/UN
Summary The Regional Integrated Multi-Hazard Early Warning System for Africa and Asia (RIMES) is an international and intergovernmental institution, owned and managed by its Member States, for the generation and application of early warning information.
Description  RIMES was set up by countries in Africa and Asia after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami as a regional early warning system for early warning information, and related capacity building for preparedness and response to hazards.

RIMES provides regional early warning services and builds capacity of its Member States in the end-to-end early warning of tsunami and hydro-meteorological hazards.

Its mission is to build capacity and provide actionable warning information towards forearmed, forewarned and resilient communities.

Member States (12) : Bangladesh, Cambodia, Comoros, India, Lao PDR, Maldives, Mongolia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Seychelles, Sri Lanka and Timor-Leste.

Collaborating Countries (19): Afghanistan, Armenia, Bhutan, China, Indonesia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Somalia, Tanzania, Thailand, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, and Yemen.

RIMES has been supported since inception by UNESCAP and DANIDA.
1.1 Socio- economic Sector (OECD) 410 Environmental protection
1.3 Natural dimension Climate/Air
3.2 Pollution-Environmental Protection 7. Prevention & recycling
8. Treatment & control
5.1 Sustainability Issues 7. Content (Development)